With establishing the institute (1953), the groups for architecture (with Emil Belluš and Vladimir Karfík) and for town-planning have been formed. Afterwards, the research in the field of town-planning theory has been noticeable developed. It was guided by an outstanding Czechoslovak theoretician of town-planning, the holder of Herder prize, Emanuel Hruška. The research was focused on the theory of town-planning. Under guidance of Tibor Zalčík, the research was focused also on the history of town-planning and theory of environment. The theory of architecture started to be developed under the guidance of Matus Dulla, and later on, since the 1990, of Martin Mašek. At that time the department was named Department of Ekistics and was joined by the group of town-planning sociology. Under guidance of Henrieta Moravčíková the Department of architecture is specialised in investigating the 20th and 21st century architecture with special focus on modernism and heritage issues of modern architecture.